Monday, February 1, 2016

Sweet Ruin (Immortals After Dark, #16) by Kresley Cole [Review]

An immortal assassin is caught between desire and duty...

A foundling raised in a world of humans

Growing up, orphaned Josephine didn’t know who or what she was—just that she was “bad,” an outcast with strange powers. Her baby brother Thaddeus was as perfect as she was flawed; protecting him became her entire life. The day he was taken away began Jo’s transition from angry girl... to would-be superhero... to enchanting, ruthless villain.

A lethally sensual enforcer on a mission

A threat to the Møriør has brought archer Rune the Baneblood to the mortal realm to slay the oldest living Valkyrie. Whether by bow or in bed, he never fails to eliminate his target. Yet before he can strike, he encounters a vampiric creature whose beauty

conceals a black heart. With one bite, she pierces him with aching pleasure, taking his forbidden blood - and jeopardizing the secrets of his brethren.

A boundless passion that will lead to sweet ruin...

Could this exquisite female be a spy sent by the very Valkyrie he hunts? Rune knows he must not trust Josephine, yet he’s unable to turn her away. Despite his millennia of sexual conquests, he can’t ignore the unfamiliar longing she arouses deep within him. When Jo betrays the identity of the one man she will die to protect, she and Rune become locked in a treacherous battle of wills that pits ultimate loyalty against unbridled lust.

4 Hot Hot Hot Stars
Sweet Ruin is the 16th book in the Immortals After Dark Series, each can be read as a standalone. In fact, this is my first book in the series.

I love paranormal books, but what I love even more are paranormal steamy books and Kresley Cole did not disappoint.  If you haven’t read any of the books in the series and you are curious if you can pick it up and understand, I will tell you, it’s completely understandable. I love paranormal books because you never know what kind of world you will get. You are exposed to a lot in this one and it’s a meaty book.

The beginning starts with Josephine, Jo. She has a troubled childhood, which ends quickly when she’s shot, only she doesn’t stay dead, well sort of. She wakes up in the morgue and realizes she’s special. I really liked the way the book starts because I felt like I was uncovering the mystery with Jo. Who is she? What can she do? She likes blood?

She wants to be with her little brother, but realizes it’s difficult in the state she is in. So it’s years later and she runs into Rune.

The main and star of the show is Ruin. He’s so alpha, hot and he sells his body for information. I know, hot right? Jo runs into Rune while he is “working” as in working four women! Okay, not all at once, but one at a time. It made me blush too.

Ruin is intrigued by Jo and realizes she can help him capture his enemy. He plans to kidnap her and hold her so he can get information out of her. His torture tactics is … not the most typical… he does it sexually. Like I said it’s hot. The chemistry between Jo and Rune is off the charts and I was gripping the pages to find out what’s going to happen next.

I like how Jo is a strong character, not only she has physical abilities that make her unique, but she’s determine to stay loyal to her brother and her standards. She wants to be in a relationship with a man who will love her for her and will not settle. You go girl!

Ruin teaches Jo more of his world, which helps first time readers like me understand and Jo falls more for him day by day. I had no idea what this story was going to be about, but it completely blew my mind away. If you are a first time reader of the series, pick it up, if you are an avid fan or like to skip around, you will not be disappointed. 

An ARC was provided


The Warlord Wants Forever (Immortals After Dark #1) 
A Hunger Like No Other (Immortals After Dark #2) 
No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals After Dark #3) 
Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night (Immortals After Dark #4) 
Dark Needs at Night's Edge (Immortals After Dark #5) 
Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark #6) 
Kiss of a Demon King (Immortals After Dark #7) 
Deep Kiss of Winter (Includes: Immortals After Dark, #8; Alien Huntress, #3.5) 
Pleasure of a Dark Prince (Immortals After Dark #9) 
Demon from the Dark (Immortals After Dark #10) 
Dreams of a Dark Warrior (Immortals After Dark #11) 
Lothaire (Immortals After Dark #12) 
Shadow's Claim (Immortals After Dark, #13; The Dacians, #1) 
MacRieve (Immortals After Dark, #14) 
Dark Skye (Immortals After Dark, #15) 
Sweet Ruin (Immortals After Dark, #16) 

Kresley Cole is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the electrifying Immortals After Dark paranormal series, the young adult Arcana Chronicles series, the erotic Gamemakers series, and five award-winning historical romances.

A master’s grad and former athlete, she has traveled over much of the world and draws from those experiences to create her memorable characters and settings.

Her IAD books have been translated into twenty foreign languages, garnered three RITA awards, and consistently appear on the bestseller lists, in the U.S. and abroad.

Cole lives in Florida with her family and “far too many animals.” You can learn more about Kresley at

No comments:

Post a Comment