Wednesday, April 20, 2016

The Beast (Black Dagger Brotherhood #14) by J.R. Ward [REVIEW]

Rhage and Mary return in a new novel of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, a series “so popular, I don’t think there’s a reader today who hasn’t at least heard of [it]” (USA Today).

Nothing is as it used to be for the Black Dagger Brotherhood. After avoiding war with the Shadows, alliances have shifted and lines have been drawn. The slayers of the Lessening Society are stronger than ever, preying on human weakness to acquire more money, more weapons, more power. But as the Brotherhood readies for an all-out attack on them, one of their own fights a battle within himself…

For Rhage, the Brother with the biggest appetites, but also the biggest heart, life was supposed to be perfect—or at the very least, perfectly enjoyable. Mary, his beloved shellan, is by his side and his King and his brothers are thriving. But Rhage can’t understand—or control—the panic and insecurity that plague him…

And that terrifies him—as well as distances him from his mate. After suffering mortal injury in battle, Rhage must reassess his priorities—and the answer, when it comes to him, rocks his world...and Mary’s. But Mary is on a journey of her own, one that will either bring them closer together or cause a split that neither will recover from...

4 I love my BEAST Stars
It’s no surprise why so many fans love this series, it’s addictive, it’s written well and there’s something about J.R. Ward’s writing that makes you crave more. I completely have cover love for this one too. I read the first 11 books in the series back to back in two weeks. It was the best two weeks I spent reading. I got to know the characters and fall in love with them, especially the original characters, like Rhage and Mary.   I finally caught up in the series and I devoured The Beast.

As much as I love the new characters because it adds a little something to the series and tension of course, like I said, I love the original cast. I’m glad J.R. Ward is rewriting their stories, like King and

Beth in book 12 and Rhage and Mary in book 14, it’s a nice extra treat for the fans like me.
We saw in the last book, Rhage was going through some stuff. He felt troubled and when we get into The Beast it’s a bit more apparent and you will feel for the man. I love Rhage’s passion towards

Mary and his loyalty towards the brotherhood and you simply want the man to be happy. The book starts out with a bang and you don’t know what’s going on or what will happen to Rhage.
Mary is the strong partner that loves Rhage with all of her heart, but there is something also that troubles her and to me, I like that the couple both have problems  and inner struggles. I love how
much the relationship has progressed from book 2.

You get more Assail and I will admit the man is growing on me. I’m really intrigued by him and I wonder where his story will go to. I can’t wait for his future book.

Of course, my favorite, Xcor and Layla, I’m beyond excited the next book, The Chosen will be their book because I was glued to the pages when I read anything Xcor and Layla related, you throw in a forbidden romance and a pregnant woman? I’m all over that.

This book is for the BDB fans, you will not be disappointed.

An ARC was provided

J.R. Ward is a #1 New York Times bestselling author with more than 15 million novels in print published in 25 different countries around the world.  A graduate of Smith College, she currently lives in Kentucky where she has learned to enjoy and appreciate all things Southern.  Prior to becoming an expat Yankee, she worked as a lawyer in Boston and spent many years as the Chief of Staff of one of Harvard’s world-renowned academic medical centers. 

Ward has always had a passion for writing.  After a decade of drafting stories in her spare time, she became a full-time novelist, and her first published novel, Leaping Hearts, was released in 2002.  Under the name Jessica Bird she wrote nine contemporary romances, and then got the idea for a darker, sexier series with paranormal elements, featuring a group of warrior vampires.  The Black Dagger Brotherhood was born.

The reader reaction to the series was immediate, spectacular and obsessive.  The fourth book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, Lover Revealed, hit the New York Times mass market fiction bestseller list and since then, Ward’s novels have held the #1 spot on the New York Times hardcover, mass market, eBook, and combined print/eBook fiction bestseller lists and have debuted in the top 5 on the USA Today bestseller list.

This summer Ward introduces a new contemporary series set in her adopted home state of Kentucky with the novel The Bourbon Kings.  The series will follow the intertwined and scandalous fortunes of several ultrawealthy Kentucky families who have made their fortunes from bourbon.
J.R. Ward lives with her husband, daughter and their beloved golden retriever, as well as many other dogs, in Kentucky.  Visit her popular website and fan community at and

Black Dagger Brotherhood Series by J.R. WARD


REVIEW of Books #1 Through #11 -> HERE
Review The King #12
Review The Shadows #13

Dark Lover #1  AMAZON | Lover Eternal #2  AMAZON | Lover Awakened #3 AMAZON
Lover Revealed #4 AMAZON | Lover Unbound #5  AMAZON | Lover Enshrined #6  AMAZON
Lover Avenged #7  AMAZON | Lover Mine #8  AMAZON | Lover Unleashed #9 AMAZON
Lover Reborn #10  AMAZON | Lover At Last #11  AMAZON | The King #12 AMAZON
The Shadows #13 AMAZON | The Beast #14 AMAZON



No comments:

Post a Comment