Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Take Down (Blood and Glory #2) by Tara Wyatt and Harper St. George

The second novel in the sizzling Bloody and Glory series—perfect for fans of Katy Evans’s REAL series and Sidney Halston’s Worth the Fight series—reveals that fighting for your heart is sometimes the only way to beat the demons in your soul.
MMA champion Gabriel “The Sandman” Maddox prefers to live his life quietly and intensely. He plays by the rules, respects the sport, and trains harder than any other fighter. It’s this unwavering focus that helps him block out the pain from a devastating loss in his past. He spends his days slaying his monsters in the octagon, and his evenings numbing himself with sexual conquests. With his painful baggage, he’s not looking for anything beyond his no-strings-attached lifestyle.

But journalist Megan Sinclair won’t leave him alone. She’s intensely drawn to Gabe from the moment she meets him, and wants to know more about the secretive man who both intrigues her and makes her heart race. As she gets to know the quiet, brooding fighter, she realizes that giving in to their intense chemistry could mend her scars. Will these two be able to heal each other, or will ghosts from the past keep them apart? 

3 Stars

Take Down is a standalone and is part of the Blood and Glory series. This is my first Harper St. George and Tara Wyatt book. I love trying new authors and I like fighting books.

Gabriel doesn’t do relationships. He had a past and because of that he is the way he is. He’s a MMA champion fighter and he’s good at his job. Gabriel was a character. If you like a super guarded Hero, then this is your guy. It was difficult at times to get to know the guy because his walls were made of steel. But you can tell deep deep deep down his heart is made out of gold.

 Megan is a journalist and usually I don’t like a journalist story line, but she’s not the typical journalist, she doesn’t do whatever she can to get the story. It’s not that kind of plot and thank you for that. She’s a typical heroine and as much as I wanted to like Megan, I found it hard to side with her.

This is the kind of book where the Heroine chases after the Hero and the premise did promise that so if you like that kind of book then this one is for you. I personally prefer the Hero chasing the Heroine, but this kind of changes things up a bit.

Overall the book was what promised, a guarded Hero, a persistent Heroine and a lot of fighting involved. If you like the politics of fighting, then you really like this book. This book gets into the gritty politics of of the sports. So there is that side storyline and it’s not all focused on the relationship.

An ARC was provided.

Harper St. George was raised in rural Alabama and along the tranquil coast of northwest Florida. It was a setting filled with stories of the old days that instilled in her a love of history, romance, and adventure. By high school, she had discovered the historical romance novel which combined all of those elements into one perfect package. She has been hooked ever since.

She lives in the Atlanta area with her husband and two young children. When not writing, she can be found devouring her husband's amazing cooking and reading. She would love to hear from you. Please visit her website at 

Tara Wyatt is a romance author who’s been making up love stories ever since she fell head over heels for the Backstreet Boys and Hanson almost twenty years ago. Not content with merely daydreaming about Nick Carter and Taylor Hanson, she grabbed a notebook and wrote countless fan fiction stories. 

After outgrowing her boy band obsession and obtaining an Honours B.A. in English Literature and Philosophy from McMaster University, her love of books and reading led her to pursue a Masters’ degree in Library and Information Science at the University of Western Ontario. Currently, she works for a large public library system, where she has the arduous task of selecting books for children and young adults for the library’s collection. 

​Before it was published, Tara’s manuscript, Necessary Risk, won the 2014 Unpublished Winter Rose contest, and the 2014 Linda Howard Award of Excellence. Her second manuscript, Primal Instinct, won the Utah RWA's Heart of the West contest, also before it was published. 

Tara is a member of the Toronto RWA chapter. She lives in Hamilton, Ontario, with the cutest dog in the world and a husband who makes all of her heroes look like chumps.

Visit her online at, or find her on Twitter @taradwyatt. 

You can sign up news and updates here:

No comments:

Post a Comment